Special Events

Join us for summer fun at one of our 54 wading pools across the City!

All special events feature arts and crafts, games, prizes, and lots of time to stay cool in the pool!

Summer 2016 Wading Pool Special Events

Please note: the special event at Balena wading pool is now scheduled for Tuesday, August 2. 

Special Events
Date Event Locations
Tuesday, July 26

Cecil Morrison

McNabb

Wednesday, July 27

Iona

Ruth Wildgen

St-Laurent

Thursday, July 28

Michele Heights

Sylvia Holden

Friday, July 29

Pauline Vanier

Tuesday, August 2

Balena

Wednesday, August 3

Heron

Thursday, August 4

McKellar

Meadowvale

Friday, August 5 Alda Burt
Tuesday, August 9 Woodroffe
Wednesday, August 10

Britannia

Optimiste

Thursday, August 11

McKellar

St. Luke's

Friday, August 12 Weston
Monday, August 15 Rideauview
Tuesday, August 16 Chaudiere
Wednesday, August 17 St. Paul's 
Thursday, August 18 Hampton
Friday, August 19

Bellevue Manor

Greenboro

Tuesday, August 23 Brantwood
Wednesday, August 24 Raven

 

Friday Fun Days

On certain Fridays throughout the summer all pools will incorporate a special theme into their daily activities.  Please visit your local wading pool prior to these days to find out more information.

  • Friday, July 29:     Teddy Bear Picnic
  • Friday, August 12: Wet'n'Wild
  • Friday, August 19: Dance Party

 

 

Waterplay

Come join our team in fun-filled water activities as part of the Waterplay program! This program uses fun and interactive games and learn-to-swim activities to offer a basic instruction in necessary water skills that can be used continuously throughout life. This is an excellent opportunity for children to have fun at the wading pools while also building foundational swimming skills and learning water safety. Waterplay is an informal program available to the public free of charge at all wading pools across the city.

Wading pools are open and available for Waterplay daily from 11 am to closing time except for park-specific closed days, and will run from June 24 to August 28, 2015.  Please talk to the park staff or check online for information on specific wading pools. You can also call 613-580-2590 or send an e-mail to seasonalrecreation@ottawa.ca