Order of Ottawa inductees and Brian Kilrea Award for Excellence in Coaching recipient announced for 2022

Archived content

This page has been archived and will not be updated. It can be used for reference purposes but it is possible some links no longer work.
Published on
October 28, 2022
Arts, heritage and events
Council, committees and City Hall

Today, Mayor Jim Watson announced 15 residents who will be inducted into the Order of Ottawa this year, as well as the recipient of the 2022 Brian Kilrea Award for Excellence in Coaching.  

This year’s ceremony will take place at City Hall on Thursday, November 3.  

Mayor Watson will induct 15 people into the Order of Ottawa for 2022, including:  

  • Natasha Bakht 

  • Cynthia Bland 

  • LCol Frances Chilton-Mackay, OMM, MSM, CD (Ret’d) 

  • Katherine Cotton 

  • Gillian Gailey 

  • Gipsy Ghosh 

  • Harvey Glatt 

  • Jocelyn Lamont 

  • Mélissa Larocque 

  • Gavin Lumsden 

  • Lane MacAdam 

  • Janet Mason 

  • Susan Richards, FCPA, FCMA 

  • Zybina Richards 

  • Kris Singhal 

The Mayor will also present Kevin A. Ling with the Brian Kilrea Award for Excellence in Coaching, a City award that recognizes the contribution of an amateur coach who best exemplifies the qualities of leadership and commitment.  

Also being honoured at the 2022 Order of Ottawa awards ceremony are former inductees Paul Hindo (2020) and Julie Richards (2021) who were unable to attend their respective awards ceremonies. 

Residents will be able to watch the ceremony live on Rogers tv Cable 22 and on the Rogers tv website at 7 pm. 

The Order of Ottawa recognizes exceptional residents who have made a significant contribution in a professional capacity in many areas of city life, including arts and culture, business, community service, education, entrepreneurship, public service, labour, communications and media, science, sports and entertainment or other fields that benefit the residents of Ottawa.  

Mayor Watson and City Council established this prestigious civic award in 2012. Recipients are chosen by a selection committee comprised of the Mayor, City Clerk, Chief of Police, Chief of Protocol, City Archivist and Chief Executive Officer of the Ottawa Public Library.  

For more information about the Order of Ottawa, please visit the Awards and Recognition page on ottawa.ca.   

Biographies of 2022 recipients.  


“We are proud to celebrate exceptional residents who have gone well beyond the ordinary in their professional work to help improve the lives of those in our community. The 2022 Order of Ottawa inductees are a group of individuals who enrich our city every day and inspire others to become community leaders, and it is an honour to recognize their accomplishments.”  

Mayor Jim Watson, City of Ottawa 

For more information on City programs and services, visit ottawa.ca, call 3-1-1 (TTY: 613-580-2401) or 613-580-2400 to contact the City using Canada Video Relay Service. You can also connect with us through Facebook, Twitter and Instagram