This site uses JavaScript. Please enable JavaScript in your Browser and reload the page to view the full site.

Archived - City announces 2015 Ottawa Book Awards and Prix du livre d’Ottawa finalists

This page has been archived and will not be updated. You can use it for research or reference. It is possible that some links no longer work.
September 21, 2015
Announcements and Events

Ottawa – Fans of fiction and non-fiction alike received valuable recommendations for their winter reading lists today as the City announced the finalists for the 2015 Ottawa Book Awards and Prix du livre d’Ottawa.

Celebrating its 30th anniversary, the awards recognize the top English and French books published in the past year by local authors. Finalists include 15 prominent authors from Ottawa’s thriving literary community.

2015 Ottawa Book Awards finalists:

English Non-Fiction

  • Alan Bowker, A Time Such as There Never Was Before: Canada After the Great War
    (Dundurn Press)
  • Andrew Cohen, Two Days in June: John F. Kennedy and the 48 Hours that Made History
    (Signal - McClelland & Stewart)
  • Tim Cook, The Necessary War – Volume 1: Canadians Fighting The Second World War: 1939-1943
    (Penguin Canada Books Inc.)
  • David Halton, Dispatches from the Front: Matthew Halton, Canada's Voice at War
    (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Heather Menzies, Reclaiming the Commons for the Common Good
    (New Society Publishers)

English Fiction

  • Shane Book, Congotronic
    (House of Anansi Press)
  • Stewart Dudley, The Cutting Room
    (Self Published)
  • Caroline Pignat, The Gospel Truth
    (Red Deer Press)
  • Scott Randall, And to Say Hello
    (DC Books)
  • Deanna Young, House Dreams
    (Brick Books)

2015 Prix du livre d’Ottawa finalists:

French Fiction

  • Martine Batanian, Clinique
    (Marchand de feuilles)
  • Andrée Christensen, Racines de neige
    (Les Éditions David)
  • Blaise Ndala, J’irai danser sur la tombe de Senghor
    (Les Éditions L’Interligne)
  • Daniel Poliquin, Le vol de l’ange
    (Les Éditions du Boréal)
  • Michel A. Thérien, La fluidité des heures
    (Les Éditions David)

In accordance with the Prix du livre d’Ottawa guidelines, there were not enough submissions to allow for an award for French Non-Fiction this year.

Descriptions of short-listed books and author biographies are available online at

The winners of each category will be announced at the awards ceremony, which will take place at Ottawa City Hall  on Wednesday, October 21 at 5 p.m. in Jean Pigott Place. Each winner will receive $7,500, while finalists will receive $1,000.

Past winners of the Ottawa Book Awards include David O’Meara, Paul Wells, Jamieson Findlay, Elizabeth Hay, Roy MacGregor, Brian Doyle and Frances Itani. Past winners of the Prix du livre d’Ottawa include Philippe Bernier Arcand, Estelle Beauchamp, Daniel Poliquin, Margaret Michèle Cook and Maurice Henrie.


Public Inquiries


Media Inquiries