This site uses JavaScript. Please enable JavaScript in your Browser and reload the page to view the full site.

Archived - City announces 2017 Ottawa Book Awards and Prix du livre d’Ottawa finalists

This page has been archived and will not be updated. You can use it for research or reference. It is possible that some links no longer work.
September 18, 2017
Announcements and Events

From intense drama and captivating short stories, to riveting history and elegant poetry, this year’s finalists for the 2017 Ottawa Book Awards and Prix du livre d’Ottawa have something for everyone.

The awards recognize the top English and French books published in the past year by local authors. Finalists include 15 prominent authors from Ottawa’s thriving literary community.

2017 Ottawa Book Awards finalists:

English Fiction

  • Peggy Blair, Umbrella Man
    (Simon & Schuster Canada)
  • Nadia Bozak, Thirteen Shells
    (House of Anansi Press)
  • Faizal Deen, The Greatest Films
    (Mawenzi House Publishers)
  • Katherine Leyton, All the Gold Hurts My Mouth
    (Goose Lane Editions)
  • John Metcalf, The Museum at the End of the World

English Non-Fiction

  • Kevin Burns, Henri Nouwen: His Life and Spirit
    (Franciscan Media)
  • Deborah Gorham, Marion Dewar: A Life of Action
    (Second Story Press)
  • Charlotte Gray, The Promise of Canada: 150 Years – People and Ideas That Have Shaped our Country
    (Simon & Schuster Canada)
  • Nathan M. Greenfield, The Reckoning: Canadian Prisoners of War in the Great War
    (HarperCollins Publishers Ltd)
  • D. Peter MacLeod, Backs to the Wall: The Battle of Sainte-Foy and the Conquest of Canada
    (Douglas & McIntyre)

2017 Prix du livre d’Ottawa finalists:

French Fiction

  • Jean Boisjoli, La mesure du temps
    (Éditions Prise de parole)
  • Andrée Christensen, Épines d’encre
    (Les Éditions David)
  • Marie Gingras, La poulette grise
    (Éditions Vents d’Ouest)
  • Christian Milat, Si je connaissais…
    (Les Éditions David)
  • Sébastien Pierroz, Entre parenthèses
    (Éditions Prise de parole)

Descriptions of short-listed books and author biographies are available on

The winners of each category will be announced at the awards ceremony, which will take place at Ottawa City Hall  on Wednesday, October 18 at 7 p.m. in Jean Pigott Place. Each winner will receive $7,500, while finalists will each receive $1,000.

Past winners of the Ottawa Book Awards include Nadine McInnis, Tim Cook, Scott Randall, Heather Menzies, David O’Meara, Jamieson Findlay, Brian Doyle and Frances Itani. Past winners of the Prix du livre d’Ottawa include Pierre-Luc Landry, Patricia Smart, Blaise Ndala, Philippe Bernier Arcand, Estelle Beauchamp, Daniel Poliquin, Margaret Michèle Cook and Maurice Henrie.

Public Inquiries


Media Inquiries