This site uses JavaScript. Please enable JavaScript in your Browser and reload the page to view the full site.

Archived - City announces 2020 Ottawa Book Awards finalists

This page has been archived and will not be updated. You can use it for research or reference. It is possible that some links no longer work.
September 15, 2020
Announcements and Events

The finalists for the 2020 Ottawa Book Awards feature literary works of intense drama, humour and biography to riveting history, political commentary and elegant poetry.

The awards recognize the top English and French books published in the past year by 15 local authors – exemplifying Ottawa’s rich literary talent.

2020 Ottawa Book Awards finalists:

English Fiction

  • Henry Beissel - Footprints of Dark Energy
    Guernica Editions Inc.
  • Missy Marston - Bad Ideas
    ECW Press
  • Cara Martin - Shantallow
    Cormorant Books Inc.
  • Karen McBride - Crow Winter
    HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.
  • Sonia Saikaley - The Allspice Bath
    Inanna Publications & Education Inc.

English Non-Fiction

  • Mark Bourrie - Bush Runner: The Adventures of Pierre-Esprit Radisson
  • Charlotte Gray - Murdered Midas: A Millionaire, His Gold Mine, and a Strange Death on an Island Paradise
    HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • Amanda Jetté Knox - Love Lives Here: A Story of Thriving in a Transgender Family
    Penguin Random House of Canada
  • Beverley McLachlin - Truth Be Told: My Journey Through Life and the Law
    Simon & Schuster Canada
  • Graeme Truelove - Un-Canadian: Islamophobia in the True North 
    Harbour Publishing

French Fiction

  • Jean Boisjoli - Moi, Sam. Elle, Janis.
    Les Éditions David
  • Jean Mohsen Fahmy - La sultane dévoilée
    Les Éditions David
  • Maurice Henrie - La maison aux lilas
    Les Presses de l’Université d’Ottawa
  • Marc-Alexandre Reinhardt - Tadmor
    Groupe Nota Bene (Le lézard amoureux)
  • Véronique Sylvain - Premier quart
    Éditions Prise de parole

Descriptions of short-listed books and author biographies are available on the Ottawa Book Awards webpage.

The winners of each category will be announced at the awards ceremony, which will take place virtually on Wednesday, October 21 at 6 pm. Each winner will receive $7,500, while finalists will each receive $1,000. To receive a link to the invitation for the event, please write to

The Archibald Lampman Award for Poetry and Le Prix littéraire Émergence AAOF – 2020 will also be presented at the ceremony.

Past winners of the Ottawa Book Awards include Kagiso Lesego Molope, Tim Cook, John Metcalf, Charlotte Gray and David O’Meara, Andrée Christensen, Yvon Malette, Pierre-Luc Landry, Alain Bernard Marchand and Margaret Michèle Cook.

For more information on City programs and services, visit or call 3-1-1 (TTY: 613-580-2401). You can also connect with us through Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Public Inquiries


Media Inquiries