City announces 2022 Ottawa Book Awards finalists

Published on
September 20, 2022
Arts, heritage and events

Fourteen local finalists have been selected for the 2022 Ottawa Book Awards. This year’s finalists take the reader on a journey through deeply personal poetry, poignant narrative, gripping human drama and immersive biography to explore transformative periods in history and rediscover familiar worlds anew.

The awards recognize the top English and French books published in the past year by local authors – exemplifying Ottawa’s rich literary talent.

2022 Ottawa Book Awards finalists:

English Fiction

  • Emily Austin – Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead, Simon & Schuster Canada
  • Jacqueline Bourque – Repointing the Bricks, Mansfield Press
  • Mark Frutkin – The Artist & The Assassin, The Porcupine’s Quill
  • Wayne Ng – Letters from Johnny, Guernica Editions Inc
  • David O’Meara – Masses on Radar, Coach House Books

English Non-Fiction

  • Nathan M. Greenfield – Anything But a Still Life: The Art and Lives of Molly Lamb and Bruno Bobak, Goose Lane Editions
  • Mike Blanchfield and Fen Osler Hampson – The Two Michaels: Innocent Canadian Captives and High Stakes Espionage in the US-China Cyber War, Sutherland House
  • Diana Nemiroff – Women at the Helm: How Jean Sutherland Boggs, Hsio-yen Shih, and Shirley L. Thomson Changed the National Gallery of Canada, McGill-Queen's University Press
  • Brodie Ramin – The Perfect Medicine, Dundurn Press
  • Barry K. Wilson – Sir Mackenzie Bowell: A Canadian Prime Minister Forgotten by History, Loose Cannon Press

French Fiction

  • Véronique-Marie Kaye – Marjorie à Montréal, Éditions Prise de parole
  • Éric Mathieu – Dans la solitude du Terminal 3, La mèche
  • Blaise Ndala – Dans le ventre du Congo, Mémoire d’encrier
  • Michèle Vinet – Le malaimant, Éditions L’Interligne

Descriptions of short-listed books and author biographies are available on the Ottawa Book Awards webpage.

The winners of each category will be announced at the awards ceremony, which will take place at 7 pm on Wednesday, October 19 at Meridian Theatres at 101 Centrepointe Drive. Each winner will receive $7,500, while finalists will each receive $1,000.

The Archibald Lampman Award for Poetry and Le Prix AAOF de littérature jeunesse 2022 will also be presented at the ceremony.

Past winners of the Ottawa Book Awards include Conyer Clayton, Kagiso Lesego Molope, Suzanne Evans, Henry Beissel, John Metcalf, Charlotte Gray, Andrée Christensen, Véronique Sylvain, Monia Mazigh, Pierre-Luc Landry, Alain Bernard Marchand, Margaret Michèle Cook and Nicole V. Champeau.

For more information on City programs and services, visit, call 3-1-1 (TTY: 613-580-2401) or 613-580-2400 to contact the City using Canada Video Relay Service. You can also connect with us through Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.