This site uses JavaScript. Please enable JavaScript in your Browser and reload the page to view the full site.

Archived - City’s rich architectural heritage celebrated at Ottawa Architectural Conservation Awards

This page has been archived and will not be updated. You can use it for research or reference. It is possible that some links no longer work.
February 22, 2017
Announcements and Events

The City of Ottawa recognized recipients of the 2014-2016 Ottawa Architectural Conservation Awards during a ceremony held this evening at The Innovation Centre at Bayview Yards.

The biennial awards recognize excellence in the preservation of the city’s architectural heritage. The City presents Awards of Excellence, Awards of Merit to outstanding projects in the categories of restoration, adaptive re-use, addition and infill. Certificates will be presented to designated buildings that will be receiving plaques in 2017.

The Community Heritage Award was a new category added for 2017. It was awarded to Ken Elder, an architect and Heritage Ottawa board member, in recognition of the positive impact he has made on heritage conservation in Ottawa.

The City also took the opportunity to recognize the outstanding work of Heritage Ottawa by presenting the organization with the onetime Heritage 150 Award. Heritage Ottawa is a group of dedicated, enthusiastic volunteers that promote public awareness of heritage buildings and the conservation of heritage resources. This award celebrated their 50th anniversary and recognized the importance of their work.


“The beautifully preserved properties honoured by the Ottawa Architectural Conservation Awards serve an important role: to encourage further investment in the preservation of our city’s architectural heritage. By recognizing these incredible achievements in restoration and conservation, we are celebrating our history and acknowledging its impact on how we build our future.”

Mayor Jim Watson, City of Ottawa

“I congratulate all the recipients and nominees for their commitment to conserving Ottawa’s built heritage. The projects recognized during the Ottawa Architectural Conservation Awards represent areas from across our city and demonstrate the importance of our architectural heritage to our communities.”

Councillor Jan Harder, Chair of the Planning Committee

“The Ottawa Architectural Conservation Awards are a celebration of the people and organizations who diligently work to conserve our heritage architecture for present and future generations of Ottawa residents and visitors. Each building tells a story; a story about who we are and where we have come from. These awards underline the ongoing need to actively protect our historic buildings and structures.”

Councillor Tobi Nussbaum, Chair of the Built Heritage Sub-Committee

Quick Facts:

  • The awards are presented every two years, with the last ceremony held in 2015.
  • Submissions for the awards were reviewed by an expert jury.
  • Bronze plaques are mounted on Award of Excellence-winning projects.
  • Major contributors to each project receive framed certificates.
  • The City presented the following awards:
    • Restoration (large scale)
      • Award of Excellence: The Wellington Building, 180 Wellington Street
      • Award of Merit:  Supreme Court of Canada Statues, 301 Wellington Street
    • Restoration (small scale):
      • Award of Excellence: Frechette House, 87 MacKay Street
      • Award of Merit: Kipp House, 144 Cathcart Street
    • Adaptive re-use:
      • Award of Excellence:  Sir John A. Macdonald Building, 144 Wellington Street
      • Award of Merit: Alex Trebek Alumni Hall, 155-157 Séraphin Marion
    • Addition:
      • Award of Excellence: House of Commons, Parliament Hill
    • Infill:
      • Award of Excellence: Ravenhill Common, 450 Churchill Avenue
    • Community Heritage:
      • Ken Elder, Heritage Ottawa
    • Heritage 150 Award
      • Heritage Ottawa
  • Heritage Plaque Certificates were presented to:
    • 375 King Edward  Avenue
    • Kilmorie, 21 Withrow Avenue
    • Overbrook School, 149 King George Street
    • 307 Richmond Road
    • Broadview Public School, 590 Broadview Avenue
    • St. Anne’s Rectory, 17 Myrand Avenue
    • 7 Bayview Road
    • Medical Arts Building, 180 Metcalfe Street
    • 30 Oriole Drive 
    • 5897 Fernbank Road
    • Hartin Hotel, 1993 Robertson Road


Public Inquiries


Media Inquiries