2023 exhibitions

On this page

Oskar Dap – We are all immigrants

March 18 to July 2, 2023 

Oskar Dap, NAJ HADI, 2020, digital print, 45 x 61 cm, courtesy of the artist 

 A photo of a person on left, text quotes from this person are presented on the right.

We are all immigrants is a photographic project that aims to put forward the faces and realities of migration in order to promote an inclusive and diverse narrative of immigration. Artistic expression, such as photography, is a powerful tool to overcome immigration-related taboos and a way to connect the various actors in society. This project is a platform for reflection on what immigration is and what defines us as a multicultural society. 

Christopher Schmitt - Convergence

July 15 to October 15, 2023 

Christopher Schmitt, A.I. Opera House, 2021, pigment ink on cotton rag, 43 x 56 cm, courtesy of the artist 

close-up view of electical hardware

Ottawa, with its long history of technological innovation, is a great place to live and work, yet many people are pessimistic or anxious about the future. Schmitt’s body of work, Convergence, explores this paradox. Schmitt photographs computer circuit boards and then alters them in post-production to construct futuristic landscapes that mimic our increasingly virtual world. 

Pansee Atta – we liberate one another

October 21, 2023 to March 10, 2024 

Pansee Atta, we only liberate one another (rendering detail), 2022, vinyl and laser-cut acrylic, variable dimensions, courtesy of the artist 

A digital rendering of gallery vitrines. Multicoloured forms spill out of the vitrine windows. Some forms resemble paint splatters, and some resemble figures.

Using the Corridor 45|75 exhibition space as a metaphor for the Rideau Canal and its system of locks, these colourful, monstrous figures aid one another through and past the physical and social obstacles that would contain them. The vinyl and acrylic layers break up the figures’ outlines, visually melding them into a colourful mass of interlinked bodies. 

2023 Exhibitions Peer assessment committee members

Gillian King, Cynthia O’Brien, Jakub Zdebik