Transit-Oriented Development (TOD) Plans

On this page

Transit-Oriented Development (TOD) Plans

Ottawa's Light Rail Transit (LRT) project runs east-west from Tunney's Pasture in the west to Blair Road in the east. The LRT system includes 12.5 km of new rail, 13 stations and a tunnel through the downtown core. Ten of the stations are a conversion or reconstruction of existing bus rapid transit stations to accommodate light rail and the other three stations are new underground stations in the downtown area. The final design phase and construction will be undertaken over the next few years with system opening day scheduled for 2018.

In anticipation of land development pressure in proximity to the LRT stations, City Council has established priority areas for the creation of transit-oriented development (TOD) plans. The TOD plans set the stage for future transit-supportive, or "intensified", land development by adding in appropriate locations opportunities for additional land use types and densities. The first three TOD studies for land surrounding the Train, St. Laurent and Cyrville LRT stations were approved by City Council on November 14, 2012. Three additional TOD studies for land surrounding the Lees, Hurdman and Blair LRT stations were approved by City Council on January 22, 2014. As part of this approval, all six TOD areas were included in one document and the Train TOD area was updated to Tremblay TOD area to reflect a prior name change.

Transit-Oriented Development (TOD) Plans - Lees, Hurdman, Tremblay, St. Laurent, Cyrville and Blair [ PDF- 17.586 MB ]

Appendices [ PDF 3.566 MB ]